“Death Comes to the Village” by Catherine Lloyd

21 Apr
"Death Comes to the Village" by Catherine Lloyd

“Death Comes to the Village” by Catherine Lloyd

Having suffered an injury at Waterloo, Maj. Robert Kurland is now a restless bedridden invalid. On one sleepless night, he catches sight of the silhouette of someone on his grounds carrying a suspiciously heavy load. When Lucy Harrington, the dutiful but secretly frustrated daughter of the selfish village rector, visits Kurland Manor on behalf of her inattentive father, she is drawn into the major’s confidence. Now, Lucy must not only help identify the major’s mystery figure, but she must also contend with missing servants and an outbreak of local robberies.

Death Comes to the Village is the first in a promising new cozy Regency mystery series. Catherine Lloyd’s debut is a delightful combination of Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice and Alfred Hitchcock’s Rear Window. I look forward to reading future adventures featuring Lucy Harrington and the Major. While waiting for Catherine Lloyd’s next installment, fans may enjoy reading similar Regency mystery series by Stephanie Barron, Carrie Bebris, Anna Dean, and Andrea Penrose.

–Sabrina Pollock

About these ads

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 81 other followers

%d bloggers like this: